Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Historical Settings

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. This week we’re talking about historical settings, so I’m going to list five historical settings I love and five that I’d like to see more of! And I decided to surf Pinterest to find some pretty pictures 🙂 Clicking on the picture should take you to the pin.

Top Five Historical Settings I Love

  1. WWII anything – this is my FAVORITE!

    WWIIPin

  2. Victorian England or New York or well, maybe other places too

    Victorian Pin

  3. Medieval times/the age of Robin Hood

    Medieval

  4. The Downton Abbey era – turn of the century, WWI, etc.

    DowntonAbbeyPin

  5. French Revolution – mostly because of Jennifer Donnelly’s Revolution.

    FrenchRevolutionPin

Top Five Historical Settings I’d Love to See More Of

  1. Western Expansion – I grew up loving all things Little House on the Prairie. There’s been some good westerns lately, so I’m interested in seeing what else comes out!

    The sky and clouds being lit up by the morning sunrise

  2. I can’t remember the last time I read something set in the 1960s, but now that I’m thinking about it – I kind of want to!

    1960s

  3. Era of Egyptian pharoahs – I’ve had Cleopatra on my shelf forever and need to pick it up. But I’ll always welcome more YA stories in this vein! Mara: Daughter of the Nile was one of the first books I remember checking out of the middle school library.

    EgyptianPin

  4. The 1910/20s on the wrong side of the tracks – I just started watching Peaky Blinders, so that’s probably where this is coming from.

    PeakyBlindersPin

  5. I’ll always take more WWII stories!

    WWIIPin2

Whew. This topic was actually really hard for me – I totally kept putting off writing this post, because I just didn’t know what to pick. It’s odd because I feel like I’m someone who loves reading historical fiction. But then I look at this list, and I feel like everything is kind of homogenous. So help a girl out. What historical fiction books are on your MUST list? What should I find and read immediately? I need to branch out!

 

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Historical Settings

Leave a Reply

