Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Characters Everyone Loves but I Just Don’t Get

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. The options for today are: Ten Characters Everyone Loves but I Just Don’t Get OR Ten Characters I LOVE but Others Seem to Dislike. I really, really struggled with this one. So, I’m going to put my own tweak on this. This is a list of characters or books everyone seems to love, but I just haven’t gotten around to yet/seen the appeal. Let’s see how this goes!

  1. Simon and Baz – Carry On by Rainbow Rowell. Before you all slay me, I do want to read this book! Really, I do. But I was more interested in Cath and Levi’s story in Fangirl, so I’ll probably reread that one and then dive into Carry On. I’m sure it’s great and I’ll get there soon.
  2. June and Day – Legend series by Marie Lu. I bought this box set with a good Amazon deal around Christmas 2014, but I haven’t read them yet.
  3. Cassie and everyone – The 5th Wave series by Rick Yancey. I went and saw the movie and it was fun enough, but have never picked up the book. Not really my genre and the cover doesn’t grab me. at. all.
  4. America Singer – The Selection series by Kiera Cass. I read the first book and was pretty indifferent to it. I hate leaving series unfinished though and thought this might be one that got better as the series continued. I am seriously in love with her covers though and have been wondering if I should give her newest book, The Siren, a try.
  5. Eureka – Teardrop series by Lauren Kate. Another series where I read the first book and was <meh> about it.
  6. Morpheus and friends – Splintered series by A. G. Howard. I have the first book and love retellings, especially of classics, but haven’t gotten to this series yet. Really no excuses.
  7. Grace and Sam – Shiver (The Wolves of Mercy Falls series) by Maggie Stiefvater. I LOVE her Raven Boys series, but have never been extremely interested in picking up this earlier series.
  8. Magnus Bane – books by Cassandra Clare. I actually really enjoy Magnus in all the Clare books I’ve read. But I certainly haven’t *prioritized* him. I’ve had The Bane Chronicles sitting around since release day and have just never picked it up. (Nor did I read the ebooks as they were released – not even one.) Seriously, with this one, I don’t know what’s wrong with me.

That’s all I can come up with right now. Well, one more thing. I’m sure this will be a very unpopular opinion, so stop reading here if you don’t want to know….

 

 

I recently read Shadow and Bone and the other two books in the Grisha series, and…

 

I…

 

Didn’t…

 

Fall…

 

In…

 

Love…

 

With…

 

The…

 

Darkling.

 

SORRY!

200

And with that terrible confession out of the way…what do you think? Is there a series I’ve mentioned here that I should move up in my reading list right away? Or something I should give another chance to? Let me know! Though I’m currently really enjoying Rebel of the Sands, and my copies of Lady Midnight and A Tyranny of Petticoats arrive tomorrow!

 

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Characters Everyone Loves but I Just Don’t Get

Leave a Reply

